Cover Reveal: A Girl From Forever (The Forever Institute #1) – Yolanda McCarthy

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be part of the Storytellers on Tour Cover Reveal Blitz for ‘A Girl From Forever’ by Yolanda McCarthy, the first book in The Forever Institute Series which is due for release on the 27th August.

Book Summary:

For fans of Eve of Man, Divergent and The Hunger Games comes a thrilling dystopian story of star-crossed love

Do you know who you are? Do you know where you belong? Do you recognize good from evil? Seventeen-year-old Fern thought she understood it all…

Fern is immortal. Psychic, if she can figure out how to access her ability. Totally loyal to the controversial scientists who created her, to the mission they gave her, and to the classmates she was raised with. Then Rehan contacts her, and Fern discovers the dark truth of her origins, and of a danger that threatens to destroy her and everything she loves.

But Rehan has secrets…

First love. Betrayal. Abduction. Murder. Psychics, immortals, and a battle over humanity’s destiny. When friends become enemies and terrorists turn into allies, Fern’s betrayer could be her soul mate – but that might not be enough to keep her alive.

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: A Girl From Forever (The Forever Institute #1) – Yolanda McCarthy”

Book Review: Once Stolen (The Treacherous Tides #1) – D.N. Bryn

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be reviewing Once Stolen by D.N. Bryn. A steampunk-inspired world? Mer-snake/Nagas? And that cover…? To be honest, I was sold on this book the moment the author reached out to see if I would like to review it – and they were kind enough to send me a physical copy. I’d heard of Our Bloody Pearl which is the author’s previous book in this world, although they can be read separately – and it is on the TBR – and the sample and premise was more than a little intriguing and I wasn’t disappointed!

*Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book in exchange for an honest review, all views are my own.’*

Book Cover

Book Summary:

No one with half a brain would rob the jungle’s most notorious energy cartel. The vibrations of their power-producing stones are the only thing that calms the mer-snake Cacao’s agonizing sensory condition though—and after being banished from his homeland swamps for similar thefts, he’s desperate.

When his attempt fails stunningly, a chaotic escape leaves him chained to a cartel prisoner: a self-proclaimed hero with a hidden stash of ignits so large, Cacao would never need to steal again. He’s determined to get his hands on it, even if it means guiding her home straight through the mist-laden and monster-filled swamp that exhaled him, with scheming poachers and a desperate cartel leader on their tail.

But the selfish and the self-righteous can only flee together for so long before something snaps…

Return to Our Bloody Pearl’s steampunk-inspired world of merfolk in this fun, fast-paced adventure with a hate-to-love romance, a boat-load of sass, and even more heart.

Continue reading “Book Review: Once Stolen (The Treacherous Tides #1) – D.N. Bryn”

Blog Tour (Book Review): Gunmetal Gods – Zamil Akhtar

Hello!

Today is my stop on the blog tour for ‘Gunmetal Gods’ by Zamil Akhtar organised by Storytellers on Tour. This is the first book in the Gunmetal Gods series, and it is also a Semi-Finalist in SPFBO 7.

I hope that you will check out the book and the authors, and enjoy the rest of the tour with the schedule in the banner below or (HERE).

*Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book in exchange for an honest review, all views are my own.’*

Book Summary:

They took his daughter, so Micah comes to take their kingdom. Fifty thousand gun-toting paladins march behind him, all baptized in angel blood, thirsty to burn unbelievers.

Only the janissaries can stand against them. Their living legend, Kevah, once beheaded a magus amid a hail of ice daggers. But ever since his wife disappeared, he spends his days in a haze of hashish and poetry.

To save the kingdom, Kevah must conquer his grief and become the legend he once was. But Micah writes his own legend in blood, and his righteous conquest will stop at nothing.

When the gods choose sides, a legend will be etched upon the stars.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): Gunmetal Gods – Zamil Akhtar”

Self-Published Authors Appreciation Week: Twenty Books to add to Your TBR

Hello!

Life (or rather work) has well and truly derailed my plans for this week, so I will be extending ‘Self-published Authors Appreciation Week’ on the blog to two weeks, so that I can finish up the reviews and share them – and some more fantastic self-published books with you. However, for now here is the final post for this week (so I can use the weekend – all one day of it that I get to rest, and try and catch up), and I have twenty (one) books just to add a little more to those teetering TBRs.

Continue reading “Self-Published Authors Appreciation Week: Twenty Books to add to Your TBR”

6 Self-Published Recs: Diversity is more than a Buzzword

Hello!

Continuing with this series, today I have six books that show how diversity and representation across the spectrum can and should be written. They don’t make apologies. They don’t make a spectacle of it. It’s just an integral part of each world and story, and everyone of these books is high up on my favourites shelf because of that.

Continue reading “6 Self-Published Recs: Diversity is more than a Buzzword”

6 Self-Published Recs: Ongoing Series to Dive into NOW

Hello!

Rearranging my schedule a little as work blindsided me this week and I’m behind on the review portion of the event, so for now a second Six Recs post for today. This time taking a look at six ongoing series that you don’t want to wait around to dive into.

Continue reading “6 Self-Published Recs: Ongoing Series to Dive into NOW”

6 Self-Published Recs: Series You Need to Read

Hello!

Today I am bringing you another six recommendations, and this time I have six completed series for you to add to the TBR. I love the anticipation of waiting for the next book (albeit impatiently), but sometimes you want to sink your teeth into one that you know is complete so that you can devour them all at once. Please check out the series and authors below!

Continue reading “6 Self-Published Recs: Series You Need to Read”

Cover Reveal: Jati’s Wager (Wind Tide #2) – Jonathan Nevair

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be joining the Storytellers on Tour Cover Reveal for the second book in the Wind Tide series by Jonathan Nevair – Jati’s Wager. I was so excited when the signup opened for this, because I loved the first book – Goodbye to the Sun (Review HERE), but my only concern was how they were going to follow up to the stunning cover from book one.

By smashing it into orbit it turns out, because the cover for Jati’s Wager is absolutely beautiful.

Book Summary:

A space opera heist brimming with action, twists, and turns that doubles as a story of personal growth, mentorship, and sacrifice.

Ailo is a streetwise teen surviving alone on the remote moonbase, Tarkassi 9. She wants nothing more than to flee into the wider world of the Arm. When her chance arrives, she makes it no farther than the first ship out of the system. That’s where Jati, the Patent War veteran and general fighting the Monopolies, gives her a second chance. It’s an unlikely partnership, but Ailo’s rogue status is just what Jati’s People’s Army needs to drive the final spike of victory into a weakening Garissian Council.

A team of experts assembles and hope rests on Ailo’s skill, stealth, and tenacity to pull off the impossible. It’s a wild gambit, and a moral code may need to be bent, or broken, to achieve success. When an internal shadow rises, casting doubt on their plans, Ailo and Jati are forced to weigh the cost of revenge against honor and justice.

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Jati’s Wager (Wind Tide #2) – Jonathan Nevair”

6 Self-Published Recs: Women in Self-Publishing

Hello!

Today I am bringing you another six recommendations, and in the spirit of #WomeninSFF today I am focusing on self-published books by women. Most of these are very high on TBR, apart from the first which I have read and reviewed and the last one that I must sit down and write a review for. All are fabulous authors though, so I hope that you will check out their books!

Continue reading “6 Self-Published Recs: Women in Self-Publishing”