Blog Tour (Book Review): Princess Ever After (The Rosewood Chronicles #5) – Connie Glynn

Hello!

Today I am joining The Write Reads ultimate blog tour for Princess After Ever by Connie Glynn, the fifth and final book in The Rosewood Chronicles.

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

Return to the magical world of The Rosewood Chronicles in the fifth and final instalment of this gorgeous series for fans of The Princess Diaries and Harry Potter.

Ellie is a rebellious princess who is no longer hiding her real identity.

Lottie is her Portman, wishing that she could shield Ellie from the threat of Leviathan.

Jamie is Ellie’s Partizan, a lifelong bodyguard sworn to protect the princess at any cost – but has mysteriously disappeared.

Not all of the trio have made it back to Rosewood Hall. Can they be reunited? And at what cost?

With the crown at risk, the stakes have never been higher…

The Review:

Princess Ever After took the potential that was evident in the first book and transformed it into a book that was an enjoyable read from start to finish. Just as we see the main trio growing into themselves, it feels as though the story itself has also matured into itself – embracing the tropes, the fairy tale influences and turning up the emotional stakes and impact. I certainly found myself enjoying the characters a lot more this time around, perhaps because of the growth – but also because of the arcs, they go through within this book which is a rollercoaster of emotions. Ellie’s journey was perhaps my favourite of the three, but I do feel that all three were truly allowed to shine in this book, and I liked how the relationships ended up.

   Also, I have to give props to Princess Ever After for the LGBTQIA+ representation. It was well done, and the exploration was handled well, and it’s certainly a story I would have loved to have read when I was younger for that very reason. I also have to shout out the fact that there is very much a feel of found family in this book, which is one of my favourite tropes.

Glynn’s writing is stronger in this one, and she does an excellent job of weaving in the whimsy and feel of the fairy tale and balancing it with the romance and action.  I will say that the pacing was the main issue that I had with this one, particularly towards the end where events felt rather rushed, although time was taken for the things that really mattered, but I do think that overall the book could have benefited from being longer.

The characters have grown and developed, both as individuals and in terms of their relationships which helped push this book towards YA, but it does still feel as though it falls on the younger end of the scale and more towards middle grade.

This was an entertaining and quick read and a welcome bit of lightness. Princess Ever After was a great way to end this series, and although some of it was a little predictable it didn’t stop it from being enjoyable. A great read though for anyone who loves whimsy and fairy tales and romance, and for someone who needs to be whisked away for a little while.

Connie Glynn has always loved writing and wrote her first story when she was six, with her mum at a typewriter acting as her scribe. She had a love for performing stories from a young age and attended Guildhall drama classes as a teenager. This passion for stories has never left her, and Connie recently finished a degree in film theory. It was at university that Connie started her hugely successful YouTube channel Noodlerella (named after her favourite food and favourite Disney princess). After five years of publicly documenting her life and hobbies to an audience of 900,000 subscribers on YouTube, Connie closed the book on the Noodlerella project in a bid for more privacy and to pursue her original passions in the performing arts. Connie now writes music and fiction full- time. Follow Connie on YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr @ConnieGlynn

Social Media:

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Topping & Company | Waterstones

**

One thought on “Blog Tour (Book Review): Princess Ever After (The Rosewood Chronicles #5) – Connie Glynn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s