Blog Tour (Book Review): City of Shattered Light – Claire Winn

Hello!

Belatedly due to some technical issues yesterday, I am delighted to be reviewing City of Shattered Light by Claire Winn as part of the TBR & Beyond Blog Tour. You can find the schedule for the tour HERE, so please do check out the other stops on the tour and hopefully we can tempt you to pick up this book when it comes out later this month!

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

As darkness closes in on the city of shattered light, an heiress and an outlaw must decide whether to fend for themselves or fight for each other.

As heiress to a powerful tech empire, seventeen-year-old Asa Almeida strives to prove she’s more than her manipulative father’s shadow. But when he uploads her rebellious sister’s mind to an experimental brain, Asa will do anything to save her sister from reprogramming—including fleeing her predetermined future with her sister’s digitized mind in tow. With a bounty on her head and a rogue A.I. hunting her, Asa’s getaway ship crash-lands in the worst possible place: the neon-drenched outlaw paradise, Requiem.

Gun-slinging smuggler Riven Hawthorne is determined to claw her way up Requiem’s underworld hierarchy. A runaway rich girl is exactly the bounty Riven needs—until a nasty computer virus spreads in Asa’s wake, causing a citywide blackout and tech quarantine. To get the payout for Asa and save Requiem from the monster in its circuits, Riven must team up with her captive.

Riven breaks skulls the way Asa breaks circuits, but their opponent is unlike anything they’ve ever seen. The A.I. exploits the girls’ darkest memories and deepest secrets, threatening to shatter the fragile alliance they’re both depending on. As one of Requiem’s 154-hour nights grows darker, the girls must decide whether to fend for themselves or fight for each other before Riven’s city and Asa’s sister are snuffed out forever. 

Content Warnings: violence, death, blood, mild gore, emotional abuse/manipulation, mild body horror (cybernetics), references to suicide, terminal illness, drug and alcohol references

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): City of Shattered Light – Claire Winn”

Book Spotlight: Ignite the Shadows – Ingrid Seymour

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be hosting a spotlight for ‘Ignite the Shadows’ by Ingrid Seymour a semi-finalist in BBNYA 2021.

**

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the 65 books that made it into Round Two with a mini spotlight blitz tour for each title. BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 10 finalists and one overall winner.

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website https://www.bbnya.com/ or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Continue reading “Book Spotlight: Ignite the Shadows – Ingrid Seymour”

Book Spotlight: More Than Us – Ryan Jones

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be hosting a spotlight for ‘More Than Us’ by Ryan Jones a semi-finalist in BBNYA 2021.

**

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the 65 books that made it into Round Two with a mini spotlight blitz tour for each title. BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 10 finalists and one overall winner.

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website https://www.bbnya.com/ or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Continue reading “Book Spotlight: More Than Us – Ryan Jones”

Book Spotlight: The Knight’s Daughter – S.H. Cooper

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be hosting a spotlight for ‘The Knight’s Daughter’ by S.H. Cooper a semi-finalist in BBNYA 2021.

**

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the 65 books that made it into Round Two with a mini spotlight blitz tour for each title. BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 10 finalists and one overall winner.

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website https://www.bbnya.com/ or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Continue reading “Book Spotlight: The Knight’s Daughter – S.H. Cooper”

Mini Reviews

Hello!

I have been terrible at keeping up with my reviews for the last few months, returning to work and various other things have left me scrambling to keep up so over the next few days I’ll be posting batches of mini reviews as I catch up.

Disclaimer – I received an e-arc of these books via netgalley in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Continue reading “Mini Reviews”

Cover Reveal: Burn the Skies – K. A. Wiggins

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be part of the Storytellers on Tour Cover Reveal Blitz for ‘Burn the Skies’ by K.A. Wiggins, a YA Fantasy that is due for release on July 7th 2021.

Book Summary:

In the city of nightmares, death is far from the end.

Cole’s situation has never been more dire. But her continued existence, such as it is, is far from the only thing at risk.

If she can’t find a way to keep the Mara from being unleashed by the one person she never could have imagined, not only her city, but the whole world will be devoured.

In this thrilling conclusion to the Threads of Dreams trilogy, the spark of revolution is lit—and even a drowned city can burn.

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Burn the Skies – K. A. Wiggins”

Cover Reveal: The Ruler of Chaos (Tales of an Outcast Faerie #3) – Allison Rose

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be part of the Storytellers on Tour Cover Reveal Blitz for ‘The Ruler of Chaos’ by Allison Rose, the third book in the Tales of an Outcast Faerie series which is due for release October 2021.

Book Summary:

Chaos descends upon the woods.

Kelty seeks to heal the unrest in the Court of Outcasts and find a way into Faerie. It’s time to rise to her full position of ruler, but first she must reconcile her court with Faerie and warn them of the dark magic Fable brought into their world.

Nola is adapting to her new body and life, but it is not what she expected—especially her relationship with Briar. And when Kelty gives her more responsibility within the court and old human friends show up, she just may crack under the pressure.

Allora is now a part of the Court of Outcasts after Fable leaves her behind. She seeks to lure Fable back by toying with the court, but when a familiar adversary appears in the woods, she is forced to confront her own past.

If Kelty and Nola fail to legitimize and establish the court, it may grow out of control—spelling disaster for the human world and the faerie outcasts in it. 

In the stunning final installment of the Tales of an Outcast Faerie series, the paths of three faeries clash as they struggle to find peace in the aftermath of the conflict that brought them together.

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: The Ruler of Chaos (Tales of an Outcast Faerie #3) – Allison Rose”

Blog Tour (Book Review): The Shadow Watch – S.A. Klopfenstein

Hello!

Today is my stop on the blog tour for ‘The Shadow Watch’ by S.A. Klopfenstein organised by Storytellers on Tour, and I’m delighted to share an extract as well as a chance to win a copy of this book for yourself.

I hope that you will check out the book and the author, and enjoy the rest of the tour with the schedule in the banner below or (HERE).

*Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book in exchange for an honest review, all views are my own.’*

Book Summary:

A fierce sorceress on the run. A charismatic rebel with dangerous ambitions. Will their revolution save the realm or bring it to ruin?

Ripped from her homeland and sold for a handful of coins, seventeen year old Tori Burodai grew up a slave in a foreign empire. All her life, surrounded by injustice and cruelty, she has ached for the chance to fight back.

When her only friend’s life is threatened, a buried power awakens, catapulting Tori into a harrowing new reality. For the first time in centuries, magic has returned to the world, and Tori may finally have the opportunity to change her fate.

Desperate for answers, Tori joins forces with a charismatic rebel bent on righting the scales. Soon, she is thrust into the heart of a magic revolution. But magic is not the only power that has returned from the depths of the world. And some secrets should never be uncovered.

War is coming. But does Tori have what it takes to defy an empire?

Filled with complex characters, slow-burn romance, wild plot twists, and epic battles, the Shadow Watch series is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass and the Grishaverse.

Welcome to the breathtaking world of the Shadow Watch, where sorcerers are hunted, monsters rise out of myth, and the fate of all hangs on love and betrayal. Start the Four Book series now!

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): The Shadow Watch – S.A. Klopfenstein”