Norsevember Wrap- up

Hello!

I can’t believe that we’re already at the end of November! It comes with bittersweet feelings, because on one hand I can now thoroughly embrace the festive spirit – Christmas music is going on at work tomorrow!! – on the other, today is St Andrews Day and were it not the year of Covid I would be attending a Street Ceilidh, torch-lit procession and fireworks. I will however, be indulging in haggis, neeps and tatties and blast some Ceilidh music while I do so.

Tomorrow, I will be sharing my November wrap-up post and looking at what’s on for December. Today however is all about Norsevember, and will actually be my main post for the month as life (and my blasted knees) have got in the way and derailed most of my November plans.

Firstly a massive shoutout to Alex at Spells and Spaceships for organising this event, and for all his amazing posts over the month which have been a much needed bright spot. Also, thank you again for this lovely bookmark that I won from one of the giveaways.

Secondly, I managed to read all but one of the books from my Norsevember TBR, but hadn’t managed to review them yet, so below you will find those reviews (hence the fact that this is a veeeery long post). They turned out to be a mixed bag, with some that I absolutely adored and others I absolutely hated, and some snuck in that weren’t even on the TBR to start with (as is always the way, right?)

Posts:

Continue reading “Norsevember Wrap- up”

Blog Tour (Book Review) – The Failsafe Query (Sean Richardson #1) – Michael Jenkins

Hello!

Today is my stop on the blog tour for ‘The Failsafe Query’ by Michael Jenkins organised by Damppebbles Blog Tours. I hope that you will check out both the author and the book, as well as the rest of the blogs involved in the tour.

*Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book in exchange for an honest review.’*

Book Summary:

‘Some secrets were meant to be buried forever. Until now.’

Sean Richardson, a disgraced former intelligence agent, is tasked to lead a team to search for a British intelligence officer on the cusp of exposing thousands of secrets to the media. It includes a long lost list of Russian moles embedded since the Cold War, one of whom remains a public favourite in the British parliamentary system.

The action moves with absorbing pace and intrigue across Central Asia and Europe as the puzzle begins to unfold through a deep hidden legacy. As Sean gets closer to the truth, senior figures are left to nurse their anxiety knowing that if the secret is revealed, it will destroy their lives.

On the verge of success, his eye is taken off the ball, and the Russians step forward ready to pounce.  

Tense, fast paced, and insightful, The Failsafe Query twists and turns to a satisfyingly dramatic finale.

The first in a set of spy thrillers that have been expertly crafted with stunning plot lines, magnificent locations, and twists that leave you gasping for air. Perfect for fans of Frederick Forsyth, Robert Ludlum, Tom Clancy, and Scott Mariani. 

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review) – The Failsafe Query (Sean Richardson #1) – Michael Jenkins”

#Norsevember Tag!!

Hello!

Currently playing catch up with life in general, but reviews and challenges in particular – unfortunately the shift to winter brought a bad arthritis flare up so I have been out of action, and while I have been reading a lot, I didn’t have the focus for writing. However, I am now remedying that and today I am catching up with both the #Norsevember tag and Sunshine Blogger nomination posts (that will be up later in a separate post).

Firstly I would like to thank PaperbackBex for nominating me to participate in the #Norsevember tag, and then although its late in the month and I have no idea who has and hasn’t been tagged I would like to tag the following (please check out their blogs as they are all amazing)

Sam | The Book in Hand

Twitter: @thebookinhand_ |Blog:https://thebookinhand.com/

Peter | The Swordsmith

Twitter: @Eldrazi56 | Blog: https://theswordsmith36.wordpress.com/

Traveling Cloak

Twitter: @CloakTraveling |

Blog: https://fanfiaddict.com/traveling-cloaks-reviews/

*** ***

These are all books I have read, and I have commented briefly beneath each one and either linked them to an existing review or marked them with a ** which means the review is forthcoming and I will link them later.

Traditional wooden Viking boat in aged village
Continue reading “#Norsevember Tag!!”

Blog Tour (Book Review) – Six Feet Under (Terry Bell Mysteries #4) – Colin Garrow

Hello!

Today is my stop on the blog tour for ‘Six Feet Under’ by Colin Garrow organised by Damppebbles Blog Tours. I hope that you will check out both the author and the book, as well as the rest of the blogs involved in the tour.

*Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book in exchange for an honest review.’*

Book Summary:

A murder victim, a deserted airfield, a sinister project. Can Terry untangle the mystery before someone else dies?

Asked to investigate the death of a building contractor, taxi-driver and amateur sleuth Terry Bell thinks the dead man’s widow may be wasting her money. But when the trail leads to an old airfield and a brace of brutal thugs, he begins to wonder what they’re trying to hide. Tracking down one of the builder’s former workmates, Terry finds him unwilling to answer questions. When the man is beaten up, the canny cabbie gets a visit from his favourite detective inspector. But DI Charis Brown and her latest sidekick seem determined not to get involved. Until the man is attacked again…

In this murder/mystery series set on England’s northeast coast, Six Feet Under is book #4 in the Terry Bell Mystery series.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review) – Six Feet Under (Terry Bell Mysteries #4) – Colin Garrow”

Animanga: Norsevember Edition

Hello!

Today I am belatedly kicking off #Norsevember on the blog with a look at the admittedly small amount of Norse-themed or inspired anime, and there are a couple on this list that are stretching that definition. I was surprised when looking at ones that I had watched, and talking with the Anime Society I am a member of to realise just how few there are, as I would have thought that (and would argue that) there is so much material to cover between the mythology and history.

Continue reading “Animanga: Norsevember Edition”

Animanga: 20 Sci-Fi Anime You Should Watch

Hello!

Today I am kicking off things for Sci-Fi Month with a list of 20 Sci-Fi Anime that I think people should watch. This is a completely subjective list, and there is so much Sci-Fi anime out there that I have probably missed some obvious ones. For this list, I have stuck to anime I have seen and TV Series only, but I have tried to go for a mixture of older and more modern anime and a mix of genres alongside Sci-Fi.

Image
Continue reading “Animanga: 20 Sci-Fi Anime You Should Watch”

October Wrap-Up and What’s On for November

Hello!

So October has come and gone, in a somewhat different way than I had planned as I ended up spending two weeks in quarantine after coming into contact with colleagues who tested positive for covid. I didn’t have it or at least had no symptoms, I was just very bored for two weeks – and read a lot more because of it. I also had my birthday and was blessed with some lovely books and Final Fantasy VII remake which I have wanted for ages, and is currently driving me up the wall as I am stuck on a battle.

(Birthday books)

October also saw a little bit of rebranding, because as my blog nears it’s first birthday I decided a revamp was needed. So I changed up the background and created a new banner:

I also decided that come the New Year, I will be doing away with the star-rating system (apart from on netgalley and goodreads etc where it is required) and I will be replacing it with badges. I am still working on the design and details of these, so watch this space, but they are coming.

Continue reading “October Wrap-Up and What’s On for November”

Indie Sunday: Book Review – The Crown of Bones – Rosalyn Briar

Hello!

Today for Indie Sunday I am reviewing Crown of Bones by Rosalyn Briar, a New Adult dark, fairy tale fantasy. If you want to check out a sample of the book, I shared an extract as part of the Storytellers on Tour blitz for Crown of Bones on Wednesday (Here).

Book Summary:

Fairy tales are not what they seem.

Gisela knows about sacrifice all too well.

She abandoned her education, friends, and fairy tales to support her family and care for her sister.

But when she jilts a wealthy suitor, Gisela is chosen for another type of sacrifice.

As an Offering to the Goddess Bergot, Gisela and seven others are sent on a deadly quest for a mythical crown. To return home, Gisela must overcome obstacles which darkly resemble the fairy tales she once believed.

Weaving through a tapestry of friendship, romance, violence, and magic—Gisela becomes the target of an ancient evil force, while an ominous detail from the past haunts her at every turn.

To what lengths will Gisela go to save the ones she loves?

Sometimes sacrifices must be made.

Continue reading “Indie Sunday: Book Review – The Crown of Bones – Rosalyn Briar”

Animanga: Book Review – The Witch and the Beast 1 – Kousuke Satake

Hello!

For this week’s Animanga Friday and in the spirit of Halloween, I am reviewing ‘The Witch and the Beast 1’ by Kousuke Satake. While tonight in true tradition, I will be watching Kakurenbo as well as the movie for Youjo Senki (The Saga of Tanya the Evil) – and pumpkin carving may be involved at the same time.

*****

Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

50552981

Book Summary:

A WITCH’S CURSE

Guideau: a feral girl with long fangs and the eyes of a beast. Ashaf: a soft-spoken man with delicate features and a coffin strapped to his back. This ominous pair appears one day in a town that’s in thrall to a witch, who has convinced the townsfolk she’s their hero. But Ashaf and Guideau know better. They have scores to settle, and they won’t hesitate to remove anyone in their way…

Continue reading “Animanga: Book Review – The Witch and the Beast 1 – Kousuke Satake”

Book Review: Northern Wrath (The Hanged God Trilogy #1) – Thilde Kold Holdt

Image

Hello!
Today I am delighted to be reviewing ‘Northern Wrath’ by Thilde Kold Holdt which is released today, and is the perfect book to get you in the mood for #Norsevember and a must add for your TBR.

Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review

50891086

Book Summary:

A dead man, walking between the worlds, foresees the end of the gods.

A survivor searching for a weapon releases a demon from fiery Muspelheim.

A village is slaughtered by Christians, and revenge must be taken.

The bonds between the gods and Midgard are weakening. It is up to Hilda, Ragnar, their tribesmen Einer and Finn, the chief’s wife Siv and Tyra, her adopted daughter, to fight to save the old ways from dying out, and to save their gods in the process.

Continue reading “Book Review: Northern Wrath (The Hanged God Trilogy #1) – Thilde Kold Holdt”