Book Blitz (Book Spotlight): The Given (Interland Series #1) – Gary Clark

Hello!

Today I’m delighted to be part of the Storytellers on Tour Release day blitz for The Given, the debut and first book in the Interland Series by Gary Clark. Below you’ll find an extract, and a chance to win yourself a copy of the book (UK Only).

Book Summary:

In a world where the power to read minds is outlawed, can Jay ever find freedom?

Jay must hide her true abilities if she is to stay safe. But as her powers grow stronger and the authorities more intolerant, she knows that time is running out.

When Jay’s energy is detected by a powerful Reader, she has little choice but to take action. On the run with her friends, and just one step ahead of her pursuers, she must decipher the words of the Legend and reveal the secrets of her childhood stories if she is to find safety.

As she unravels the mystery, the Readers close in. Will Jay unlock the true potential of her power in time, and find the courage to fight her way through to the sanctuary of the Interland?

The Given is the first book in a YA adventure series. If you like an intriguing, grounded fantasy, a fast-paced adventure with characters coming to terms with inner conflicts, and battling powerful enemies, then you’ll enjoy this brand new dystopian YA adventure.

Continue reading “Book Blitz (Book Spotlight): The Given (Interland Series #1) – Gary Clark”

Blog Tour (Book Review): In the Orbit of Sirens (The Song of Kamaria #1) – T.A. Bruno

Hello!

Today is my stop on the blog tour for ‘In the Orbit of Sirens’ by T. A. Bruno organised by Storytellers on Tour, and I hope that you will check out the book and the author, and enjoy the rest of the tour with the schedule in the banner below or (HERE).

The audiobook or In the Orbit of Sirens was recently released, and is now available from Audible. There is also a chance to win your own copy of this book in a format of your choice, including the new audiobook at the bottom of the post,

*Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book in exchange for an honest review, all views are my own.’*

Book Summary:

THE LAST FRAGMENTS OF THE HUMAN RACE ARE FORCED TO ADAPT TO A DANGEROUS NEW WORLD OR FACE EXTINCTION.

When starship mechanic, Denton Castus, is caught in the destructive path of a devastating war, he abandons his home and seeks refuge on a distant planet. However, this new safe haven has undiscovered threats of its own. Eliana Veston, a scout preparing the planet for the refugees, struggles with a deadly pandemic that is killing off colonists. The hunt for a cure unleashes a new threat to humanity—the Sirens—mysterious beings with incredible powers and a deep hatred for invaders.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): In the Orbit of Sirens (The Song of Kamaria #1) – T.A. Bruno”

Book Review: Doors of Sleep – Tim Pratt

Hello!

For my second post today, I am delighted to be reviewing Doors of Sleep by Tim Pratt which was released this week by Angry Robot. My first (that I can remember) foray into portal fiction, and I had a lot of fun with this book.

Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review

54616389

Book Summary:

What would you do if you woke up and found yourself in a parallel universe under an alien sky? This is the question Zax Delatree must answer every time he closes his eyes.

Every time Zax Delatree falls asleep, he travels to a new reality. He has no control over his destination and never knows what he will see when he opens his eyes. Sometimes he wakes up in technological utopias, and other times in the bombed-out ruins of collapsed civilizations. All he has to live by are his wits and the small aides he has picked up along the way – technological advantages from techno-utopias, sedatives to escape dangerous worlds, and stimulants to extend his stay in pleasant ones.

Thankfully, Zax isn’t always alone. He can take people with him, if they’re unconscious in his arms when he falls asleep. But someone unwelcome is on his tail, and they are after something that Zax cannot spare – the blood running through his veins, the power to travel through worlds…

File Under: Science Fiction [ Green Power Sweat Dreams Waking Nightmare Zax of all Trades ]

Continue reading “Book Review: Doors of Sleep – Tim Pratt”

Book Review: Nophek Gloss (The Graven #1)- Essa Hansen

Black Sand Dunes

Hello!

In my first post for today (before signing of for Christmas for a couple of days) I am delighted to be reviewing Nophek Gloss by Essa Hansen.

Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review

54539799

Book Summary:

When a young man’s planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by debut author Essa Hansen, for fans of Revenger and Children of Time.
Caiden’s planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

Continue reading “Book Review: Nophek Gloss (The Graven #1)- Essa Hansen”

Book Review: The House of Styx – Derek Künsken

 

Hello!

Today I reviewing ‘The House of Styx’ by Derek Künsken which will be available in ebook format from tomorrow! Continuing with my search to expand my Sci-Fi reading this was another fantastic book, that I would highly recommend and I hope that you will check out both the author and book!

*Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

52758581. sy475

Book Summary:

Life can exist anywhere. And anywhere there is life, there is home.

In the swirling clouds of Venus, the families of la colonie live on floating plant-like trawlers, salvaging what they can in the fierce acid rain and crackling storms. Outside is dangerous, but humankind’s hold on the planet is fragile and they spend most of their days simply surviving.

But Venus carries its own secrets, too. In the depths, there is a wind that shouldn’t exist.

And the House of Styx wants to harness it.

Continue reading “Book Review: The House of Styx – Derek Künsken”

Book Review: The Vanished Birds – Simon Jimenez

Hello!

As part of my ongoing goal to try and read more science-fiction, I was delighted to be approved for the e-arc of ‘The Vanished Birds’ by Simon Jimenez which was released last week. I had fallen in love with the cover, and the premise sounded interesting (although as you will see below, the blurb doesn’t come close to capturing this book), and then when I read it I was blown away by the prose. I hope that you will check out both the book and the author!

*Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

51289108. sy475

Book Summary:

Nia Imani is a woman out of place and outside of time. Decades of travel through the stars are condensed into mere months for her, though the years continue to march steadily onward for everyone she has ever known. The captain of a transport ship contracted to the Umbrai corporation, she lives only for the next paycheck, until the day she meets a mysterious boy, fallen from the sky.

A boy, broken by his past, and hunted by his present. For he is one of the few born with the gift of the Jaunt. The ability to travel instantly anywhere in the universe. An ability that threatens the vicelike control of the settled worlds by corporations such as Umbrai.

Fumiko Nakajima, the great scientist responsible for the design of bird-like Stations that Umbrai uses to control vast tracts of space, has been searching for one such as he for a thousand years.

Together, they set out to protect the boy, a journey that will cross the decades and light years all the way out to the fringes of settled space where the laws of civilisation do not apply, and they will have only each other to rely on.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Vanished Birds – Simon Jimenez”

Mini Reviews

Hello!

Another bunch of smaller reviews today, some are netgalley reads (marked with a disclaimer) and a couple that I’ve picked up elsewhere.

                                                                         ***** ***** *****

The Black God’s Drums – P. Djèlí Clark, Channie Waites (Narrator)

Genre: Audiobook, Fantasy

44147813. sx318

Book Summary:

In an alternate New Orleans caught in the tangle of the American Civil War, the wall-scaling girl named Creeper yearns to escape the streets for the air–in particular, by earning a spot on-board the airship Midnight Robber. Creeper plans to earn Captain Ann-Marie’s trust with information she discovers about a Haitian scientist and a mysterious weapon he calls The Black God’s Drums.

But Creeper also has a secret herself: Oya, the African orisha of the wind and storms, speaks inside her head, and may have her own ulterior motivations.

Soon, Creeper, Oya, and the crew of the Midnight Robber are pulled into a perilous mission aimed to stop the Black God’s Drums from being unleashed and wiping out the entirety of New Orleans.

Continue reading “Mini Reviews”

#WomenSFF: Twenty Books by Twenty Women

Closeup Photography of Book Page Folding Forming Heart

Hello!

This is not a top 20, but rather a list of 20 recommendations – some old, some new, a mix of YA and Adult and a couple of Sci-Fi/Science Fantasy reads (my reading is definitely biased to the second F in SFF although I am working on trying to balance them out). There are many other books that I could have put on this list, and it was hard to choose which to include and as such I have not put them in any particular order or included ratings, as I just wanted to share books that I have enjoyed by female authors.

I will be doing another list of books that I want to read by female author next week, as I have discovered a lot more books to add to the TBR Tower through the #WomenSFF tag, and in particular I blame (in the best way possible) The Fantasy Hive for adding many books to the pile.

Continue reading “#WomenSFF: Twenty Books by Twenty Women”

Book Review: Every Sky a Grave (The Ascendance Series #1) – Jay Posey

Hello!

Today I am reviewing ‘Every Sky a Grave’ by Jay Posey which I was invited to receive an e-arc for, and was delighted to have a chance to read. Today is publication day for this book, so please do check it and the author out.

*Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

52049876. sy475

Book Summary:

HER WORD IS HER WEAPON.

Mankind has spread out and conquered the galaxy by mastering the fundamental language of the universe. With the right training, the right application of words, truth itself can be rearranged.
Language is literally power.

Peace reigns now. Order reigns.

For if a planet deviates too far from what the authorities plan, an agent is sent out to correct that. To quietly and with great skill, end that world.

One such agent is Elyth – a true believer.

But on a clandestine mission to stop an uprising before it can truly begin, Elyth comes to realise she hasn’t been told the whole truth herself. There’s so much she doesn’t know. How can there be people whose truth is different to that of the authorities?

Elyth’s faith in the powers that be is shaken just when she needs it most. While on her mission, a dark and unknown presence makes itself known at the edges of the galaxy – and it cannot be controlled, for nobody knows its name…

Continue reading “Book Review: Every Sky a Grave (The Ascendance Series #1) – Jay Posey”