Book Review: Nophek Gloss (The Graven #1)- Essa Hansen

Black Sand Dunes

Hello!

In my first post for today (before signing of for Christmas for a couple of days) I am delighted to be reviewing Nophek Gloss by Essa Hansen.

Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review

54539799

Book Summary:

When a young man’s planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by debut author Essa Hansen, for fans of Revenger and Children of Time.
Caiden’s planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

Continue reading “Book Review: Nophek Gloss (The Graven #1)- Essa Hansen”

Blog Tour (Book Review) – The Boy Who Walked Too Far – Dom Watson

Hello!

Today is my stop on the blog tour for ‘The Boy Who Walked Too Far’ by Dom Watson organised by Storytellers on Tour. I hope that you will check out the book and the author, and enjoy the rest of the tour with the schedule in the banner below or (HERE).

Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book in exchange for an honest review.’

Book Summary:

It’s the end of the universe, and everything has come undone. Entropy has won the war, but one last battle rages in the half-ruined city of Testament.

No one knows who created this last outpost and peopled it with billions of species. However, it is here, under a sky with no stars, that the last remnants of life in the universe live, love, and pray to their many gods. It is here where Godrich Felstrom dies.

Most residents of Testament care little for the affairs of a single, fragile human, but the event brings back bad memories for Heironymous Xindii.

It has been many years since the dreamurlurgy professor discovered his true potential and doomed four people in the process. Now, he lectures to bored students who dream of the many pleasures Testament has to offer. Xindii, on the other hand, becomes obsessed with the mysterious Godrich and his missing soul. As he and his valiant companion, the Neanderthal Solomon Doomfinger, look back at Felstrom’s last steps, they discover the shocking truth about Felstrom’s death, his destiny, and the future of Testament and all those angels, demons, liars, and dreamers who call it home.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review) – The Boy Who Walked Too Far – Dom Watson”

Book Review: The Vela – Yoon Ha Lee, Becky Chambers, SL Huang, and Rivers Solomon

Hello!

Today I am reviewing what is probably my favourite Sci-Fi read for this year – The Vela. This is one that I stumbled across on netgalley and was intrigued enough to request, and I am so glad that I was approved, because I loved this book and I find myself already wanting to read it again.

*Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

54954844. sy475

Book Summary:

In the fading light of a dying star, a soldier for hire searches for a missing refugee ship and uncovers a universe-shattering secret.

Orphan, refugee, and soldier-for-hire Asala Sikou doesn’t think too much about the end of civilization. Her system’s star is dying, and the only person she can afford to look out for is herself.

When a ship called The Vela vanishes during what was supposed to be a flashy rescue mission, a reluctant Asala is hired to team up with Niko, the child of a wealthy inner planet’s president, to find it and the outer system refugees on board.

But this is no ordinary rescue mission; The Vela holds a secret that places the fate of the universe in the balance, and forces Asala to decide—in a dying world where good and evil are far from black and white, who deserves to survive?

Continue reading “Book Review: The Vela – Yoon Ha Lee, Becky Chambers, SL Huang, and Rivers Solomon”

Book Review: The House of Styx – Derek Künsken

 

Hello!

Today I reviewing ‘The House of Styx’ by Derek Künsken which will be available in ebook format from tomorrow! Continuing with my search to expand my Sci-Fi reading this was another fantastic book, that I would highly recommend and I hope that you will check out both the author and book!

*Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

52758581. sy475

Book Summary:

Life can exist anywhere. And anywhere there is life, there is home.

In the swirling clouds of Venus, the families of la colonie live on floating plant-like trawlers, salvaging what they can in the fierce acid rain and crackling storms. Outside is dangerous, but humankind’s hold on the planet is fragile and they spend most of their days simply surviving.

But Venus carries its own secrets, too. In the depths, there is a wind that shouldn’t exist.

And the House of Styx wants to harness it.

Continue reading “Book Review: The House of Styx – Derek Künsken”

Book Review: The Vanished Birds – Simon Jimenez

Hello!

As part of my ongoing goal to try and read more science-fiction, I was delighted to be approved for the e-arc of ‘The Vanished Birds’ by Simon Jimenez which was released last week. I had fallen in love with the cover, and the premise sounded interesting (although as you will see below, the blurb doesn’t come close to capturing this book), and then when I read it I was blown away by the prose. I hope that you will check out both the book and the author!

*Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

51289108. sy475

Book Summary:

Nia Imani is a woman out of place and outside of time. Decades of travel through the stars are condensed into mere months for her, though the years continue to march steadily onward for everyone she has ever known. The captain of a transport ship contracted to the Umbrai corporation, she lives only for the next paycheck, until the day she meets a mysterious boy, fallen from the sky.

A boy, broken by his past, and hunted by his present. For he is one of the few born with the gift of the Jaunt. The ability to travel instantly anywhere in the universe. An ability that threatens the vicelike control of the settled worlds by corporations such as Umbrai.

Fumiko Nakajima, the great scientist responsible for the design of bird-like Stations that Umbrai uses to control vast tracts of space, has been searching for one such as he for a thousand years.

Together, they set out to protect the boy, a journey that will cross the decades and light years all the way out to the fringes of settled space where the laws of civilisation do not apply, and they will have only each other to rely on.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Vanished Birds – Simon Jimenez”

Book Review: Every Sky a Grave (The Ascendance Series #1) – Jay Posey

Hello!

Today I am reviewing ‘Every Sky a Grave’ by Jay Posey which I was invited to receive an e-arc for, and was delighted to have a chance to read. Today is publication day for this book, so please do check it and the author out.

*Disclaimer – I received an e-arc via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

52049876. sy475

Book Summary:

HER WORD IS HER WEAPON.

Mankind has spread out and conquered the galaxy by mastering the fundamental language of the universe. With the right training, the right application of words, truth itself can be rearranged.
Language is literally power.

Peace reigns now. Order reigns.

For if a planet deviates too far from what the authorities plan, an agent is sent out to correct that. To quietly and with great skill, end that world.

One such agent is Elyth – a true believer.

But on a clandestine mission to stop an uprising before it can truly begin, Elyth comes to realise she hasn’t been told the whole truth herself. There’s so much she doesn’t know. How can there be people whose truth is different to that of the authorities?

Elyth’s faith in the powers that be is shaken just when she needs it most. While on her mission, a dark and unknown presence makes itself known at the edges of the galaxy – and it cannot be controlled, for nobody knows its name…

Continue reading “Book Review: Every Sky a Grave (The Ascendance Series #1) – Jay Posey”

Blog Tour (Book Review) – Goldilocks – Laura Lam

 

Goldilocks BT PosterHello!

Today is my stop on the blog tour for ‘Goldilocks’ by Laura, organised by Random Things Tours. I had been fascinated by this book when I’d first heard it, so I was delighted to have participate in this tour, and I hope that you will check out both the author and the book.

*Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.’*

Goldilocks Cover

Book Summary:

A bold, thought provoking and high-concept feminist dystopian thriller

Ravaged by environmental disaster, greed and oppression, our planet is in crisis. The future of humanity hangs in the balance – and one woman can tip it over.

Despite increasing restrictions on the freedoms of women on Earth, Valerie Black is spearheading the first all-female mission to a planet in the Goldilocks Zone, where conditions are just right for human habitation.

It’s humanity’s last hope for survival, and Naomi, Valerie’s surrogate daughter and the ship’s botanist, has been waiting her whole life for an opportunity like this – to step out of Valerie’s shadow and really make a difference.

But when things start going wrong on the ship, Naomi starts to suspect that someone on board is concealing a terrible secret – and realises time for life on Earth may be running out faster than they  feared…

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review) – Goldilocks – Laura Lam”