Blog Tour (Book Spotlight): With Fire In Their Blood (Skeleton Keepers #1) – Kat Delacorte

Hello!

Today I am joining The Write Reads ultimate blog tour for With Fire in Their Blood by Kat Delacorte which comes out this thursday. I will have a full review up for this one as soon as life allows, because it was a fun read that brought together some really interesting elements.

Book Summary:

When sixteen-year-old Lilly arrives in Castello, she isn’t impressed.

A secluded town in the Italian mountains is not where she saw her last years of high school playing out.

Divided for generations by a brutal clan-family war, the two halves of Castello are kept from destroying each other by the mysterious General, a leader determined to maintain order and ‘purity’. . . whatever the cost.

Lilly falls in with the rebellious Liza, brooding Nico and sensitive Christian, and sparks begin to fly. But in a city where love can lead to ruin, Lilly isn’t sure she can trust anyone — not even herself.

And then she accidentally breaks Castello’s most important rule: when the General’s men come to test your blood, you’d better not be anything more than human…

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Spotlight): With Fire In Their Blood (Skeleton Keepers #1) – Kat Delacorte”

Blog Tour (Book Review): The Knave of Secrets – Alex Livingston

Hello!

Today I’m joining The Write Reads blog tour for The Knave of Secrets by Alex Livingston, which is out next month from Rebellion Publishing.

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

A twisty tale of magicians, con artists and card games, where secrets are traded and gambled like coin, for fans of The Lies of Locke Lamora and The Mask of Mirrors.

Never stake more than you can afford to lose.

When failed magician turned cardsharp Valen Quinol is given the chance to play in the Forbearance Game—the invitation-only tournament where players gamble with secrets—he can’t resist. Or refuse, for that matter, according to the petty gangster sponsoring his seat at the table. Valen beats the man he was sent to play, and wins the most valuable secret ever staked in the history of the tournament.

Now Valen and his motley crew are being hunted by thieves, gangsters, spies and wizards, all with their own reasons for wanting what’s in that envelope. It’s a game of nations where Valen doesn’t know all the rules or who all the players are, and can’t see all the moves. But he does know if the secret falls into the wrong hands, it could plunge the whole world into war…

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): The Knave of Secrets – Alex Livingston”

Blog Tour (Book Review): The Carnival of Ash – Tom Beckerlegge

Hello!

Today I am joining The Write Reads blog tour for The Carnival of Ash by Tom Beckerlegge.

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

Cadenza is the City of Words, a city run by poets, its skyline dominated by the steepled towers of its libraries, its heart beating to the stamp and thrum of the printing presses in the Printing Quarter.

Carlo Mazzoni, a young wordsmith arrives at the city gates intent on making his name as the bells ring out with the news of the death of the city’s poet-leader. Instead, he finds himself embroiled with the intrigues of a city in turmoil, the looming prospect of war with their rival Venice ever-present. A war that threatens not only to destroy Cadenza but remove it from history altogether…

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): The Carnival of Ash – Tom Beckerlegge”

Blog Tour (Book Review): Our Bloody Pearl (These Treacherous Tides #0) – D.N. Bryn

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be joining The Write Reads blog tour for Our Bloody Pearl by D.N. Bryn which was a finalist in BBNYA 2021. It is also a book that I have been meaning to read for ages, especially after reading and enjoying Once Stolen which is part of the same series.

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

The ocean is uncontrollable and dangerous. But to the sirens who swim the warm island waters, it’s a home more than worth protecting from the humans and their steam-propelled ships. Between their hypnotic voices and the strength of their powerful tails, sirens have little to fear.

That is, until the ruthless pirate captain, Kian, creates a device to cancel out their songs.

Perle was the first siren captured, and while all since have either been sold or killed, Kian still keeps them prisoner. Though their song is muted and their tail paralyzed, Perle’s hope for escape rekindles as another pirating vessel seizes Kian’s ship. This new captain seems different, with his brilliant smile and his promises that Kian will never again be Perle’s master. But he’s still a human, and a captor in his own way. The compassion he and his rag-tag human family show can’t be sincere… or can it?

Soon it becomes clear that Kian will hunt Perle relentlessly, taking down any siren in her path. As the tides turn, Perle must decide whether to run from Kian forever, or ride the forming wave into battle, hoping their newfound human companions will fight with them.

This adult fantasy novel featuring an nonbinary disabled protagonist is a voyage of laughter and danger where friendships and love abound and sirens are sure to steal—or eat—your heart. 

Trigger warnings: mild gore due to carnivorous sirens and sensations of drowning.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): Our Bloody Pearl (These Treacherous Tides #0) – D.N. Bryn”

Blog Tour (Book Spotlight): Undercover Princess (The Rosewood Chronicles #1) – Connie Glynn

Hello!

Today I’m hosting a book spotlight for Undercover Princess (The Rosewood Chronicles #1) by Connie Glynn as part of The Write Reads ultimate blog tour.

Book Summary:

When fairy tale obsessed Lottie Pumpkin starts at the infamous Rosewood Hall, she is not expecting to share a room with the Crown Princess of Maradova, Ellie Wolf. Due to a series of lies and coincidences, 14-year-old Lottie finds herself pretending to be the princess so that Ellie can live a more normal teenage life.

Lottie is thrust into the real world of royalty – a world filled with secrets, intrigue and betrayal. She must do everything she can to help Ellie keep her secret, but with school, the looming Maradovian ball and the mysterious new boy Jamie, she’ll soon discover that reality doesn’t always have the happily ever after you’d expect…

A thrilling world of parties, politics and bad ass princesses, this is the first book in the brand new series THE ROSEWOOD CHRONICLES.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Spotlight): Undercover Princess (The Rosewood Chronicles #1) – Connie Glynn”

Blog Tour (Book Review): You’ll Be the Death of Me – Karen M. McManus

Hello!

Today is my stop on The Write Reads blog tour for You’ll Be the Death of Me by Karen M.McManus which was released on the 2nd of December.

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

From the author of One of Us Is Lying comes a brand new addictive thriller.

Ivy, Mateo and Cal used to be close – best friends back in middle school.

Now all they have in common is a bad day. So for old time’s sake they skip school together – one last time.

But when the trio spot Brian ‘Boney’ Mahoney ditching class too, they follow him – right into a murder scene.

They all have a connection to the victim. And they’re ALL hiding something.

When their day of freedom turns deadly, it’s only a matter of time before the truth comes out . . .
It’s Ferris Bueller’s Day Off with murder, perfect for fans of One Of Us Is Lying and A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder. This explosive new thriller is impossible to put down.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): You’ll Be the Death of Me – Karen M. McManus”