Blog Tour (Book Review): Game On – Laura Silverman (ed)

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be reviewing ‘Game On: 15 Stories of Wins, Losses, and Everything in Between’ as part of the TBR & Beyond Blog Tour. You can check out the tour schedule Here and please check out the other blogs involved.

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

A charming and inclusive YA anthology all about games–from athletic sports to board games to virtual reality–from editor Laura Silverman and an all-star cast of contributors.

From the slightly fantastical to the utterly real, light and sweet romance to tales tinged with horror and thrills, Game On is an anthology that spans genre and style. But beneath each story is a loving ode to competition and games perfect for anyone who has ever played a sport or a board game, picked up a video game controller, or rolled a twenty-sided die.

A manhunt game is interrupted by a town disappearing beneath the players’ eyes. A puzzle-filled scavenger hunt emboldens one college freshman to be brave with the boy she’s crushing on. A series of summer nights full of card games leads a boy to fall for a boy who he knows is taken. And a spin the bottle game could end a life-long friendship.

Fifteen stories, and fifteen unforgettable experiences that may inspire readers to start up that Settlers of Catan game again.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): Game On – Laura Silverman (ed)”

Blog Tour (Book Review): You’ll Be the Death of Me – Karen M. McManus

Hello!

Today is my stop on The Write Reads blog tour for You’ll Be the Death of Me by Karen M.McManus which was released on the 2nd of December.

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

From the author of One of Us Is Lying comes a brand new addictive thriller.

Ivy, Mateo and Cal used to be close – best friends back in middle school.

Now all they have in common is a bad day. So for old time’s sake they skip school together – one last time.

But when the trio spot Brian ‘Boney’ Mahoney ditching class too, they follow him – right into a murder scene.

They all have a connection to the victim. And they’re ALL hiding something.

When their day of freedom turns deadly, it’s only a matter of time before the truth comes out . . .
It’s Ferris Bueller’s Day Off with murder, perfect for fans of One Of Us Is Lying and A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder. This explosive new thriller is impossible to put down.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): You’ll Be the Death of Me – Karen M. McManus”

Blog Tour (Book Review): City of Shattered Light – Claire Winn

Hello!

Belatedly due to some technical issues yesterday, I am delighted to be reviewing City of Shattered Light by Claire Winn as part of the TBR & Beyond Blog Tour. You can find the schedule for the tour HERE, so please do check out the other stops on the tour and hopefully we can tempt you to pick up this book when it comes out later this month!

Disclaimer – I received a copy in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Book Summary:

As darkness closes in on the city of shattered light, an heiress and an outlaw must decide whether to fend for themselves or fight for each other.

As heiress to a powerful tech empire, seventeen-year-old Asa Almeida strives to prove she’s more than her manipulative father’s shadow. But when he uploads her rebellious sister’s mind to an experimental brain, Asa will do anything to save her sister from reprogramming—including fleeing her predetermined future with her sister’s digitized mind in tow. With a bounty on her head and a rogue A.I. hunting her, Asa’s getaway ship crash-lands in the worst possible place: the neon-drenched outlaw paradise, Requiem.

Gun-slinging smuggler Riven Hawthorne is determined to claw her way up Requiem’s underworld hierarchy. A runaway rich girl is exactly the bounty Riven needs—until a nasty computer virus spreads in Asa’s wake, causing a citywide blackout and tech quarantine. To get the payout for Asa and save Requiem from the monster in its circuits, Riven must team up with her captive.

Riven breaks skulls the way Asa breaks circuits, but their opponent is unlike anything they’ve ever seen. The A.I. exploits the girls’ darkest memories and deepest secrets, threatening to shatter the fragile alliance they’re both depending on. As one of Requiem’s 154-hour nights grows darker, the girls must decide whether to fend for themselves or fight for each other before Riven’s city and Asa’s sister are snuffed out forever. 

Content Warnings: violence, death, blood, mild gore, emotional abuse/manipulation, mild body horror (cybernetics), references to suicide, terminal illness, drug and alcohol references

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): City of Shattered Light – Claire Winn”

Book Spotlight: The Knight’s Daughter – S.H. Cooper

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be hosting a spotlight for ‘The Knight’s Daughter’ by S.H. Cooper a semi-finalist in BBNYA 2021.

**

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the 65 books that made it into Round Two with a mini spotlight blitz tour for each title. BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 10 finalists and one overall winner.

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website https://www.bbnya.com/ or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Continue reading “Book Spotlight: The Knight’s Daughter – S.H. Cooper”

Mini Reviews

Hello!

I have been terrible at keeping up with my reviews for the last few months, returning to work and various other things have left me scrambling to keep up so over the next few days I’ll be posting batches of mini reviews as I catch up.

Disclaimer – I received an e-arc of these books via netgalley in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Continue reading “Mini Reviews”

Cover Reveal: The Ruler of Chaos (Tales of an Outcast Faerie #3) – Allison Rose

Hello!

Today I am delighted to be part of the Storytellers on Tour Cover Reveal Blitz for ‘The Ruler of Chaos’ by Allison Rose, the third book in the Tales of an Outcast Faerie series which is due for release October 2021.

Book Summary:

Chaos descends upon the woods.

Kelty seeks to heal the unrest in the Court of Outcasts and find a way into Faerie. It’s time to rise to her full position of ruler, but first she must reconcile her court with Faerie and warn them of the dark magic Fable brought into their world.

Nola is adapting to her new body and life, but it is not what she expected—especially her relationship with Briar. And when Kelty gives her more responsibility within the court and old human friends show up, she just may crack under the pressure.

Allora is now a part of the Court of Outcasts after Fable leaves her behind. She seeks to lure Fable back by toying with the court, but when a familiar adversary appears in the woods, she is forced to confront her own past.

If Kelty and Nola fail to legitimize and establish the court, it may grow out of control—spelling disaster for the human world and the faerie outcasts in it. 

In the stunning final installment of the Tales of an Outcast Faerie series, the paths of three faeries clash as they struggle to find peace in the aftermath of the conflict that brought them together.

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: The Ruler of Chaos (Tales of an Outcast Faerie #3) – Allison Rose”

Blog Tour (Book Review): White as Frost (Darkwood #1) – Anthea Sharp

Hello!

Today is my stop on the blog tour for ‘White as Frost’ by Anthea Sharp organised by Storytellers on Tour. There is also an International Giveaway at the end of this post where you have the chance to win a hardback of this fantastic book for yourself.

I hope that you will check out the book and the author, and enjoy the rest of the tour with the schedule in the banner below or (HERE).

*Disclaimer: ‘I was given a copy this book in exchange for an honest review, all views are my own.’*

Book Summary:

Two sisters. One enchanted forest. And a hidden destiny that could doom them both…

I didn’t want to come live in the castle beside the Darkwood, and I especially didn’t want to become enemies with my stepsister Neeve. But how could I help it? She has magic, while I’m an ordinary girl. She’s the heir to the throne, while I’m an annoying afterthought since my mother married the king. And Neeve has the ability to master her emotions while I’m a red-haired disaster.

She also has Thorne, the handsome guardian of the forest, who tutors her in the powers that are her heritage. Even though I know he could never be mine, I can’t keep my heart from dreaming of the impossible.

But everything changes, the day I uncover the secrets the castle has been hiding…

From USA Today bestseller Anthea Sharp comes this fantasy fairy-tale weaving elements of Snow White & Rose Red with romance, magic, and dangerous secrets that will destroy a kingdom.

Continue reading “Blog Tour (Book Review): White as Frost (Darkwood #1) – Anthea Sharp”

Book Blitz (Book Spotlight): The Given (Interland Series #1) – Gary Clark

Hello!

Today I’m delighted to be part of the Storytellers on Tour Release day blitz for The Given, the debut and first book in the Interland Series by Gary Clark. Below you’ll find an extract, and a chance to win yourself a copy of the book (UK Only).

Book Summary:

In a world where the power to read minds is outlawed, can Jay ever find freedom?

Jay must hide her true abilities if she is to stay safe. But as her powers grow stronger and the authorities more intolerant, she knows that time is running out.

When Jay’s energy is detected by a powerful Reader, she has little choice but to take action. On the run with her friends, and just one step ahead of her pursuers, she must decipher the words of the Legend and reveal the secrets of her childhood stories if she is to find safety.

As she unravels the mystery, the Readers close in. Will Jay unlock the true potential of her power in time, and find the courage to fight her way through to the sanctuary of the Interland?

The Given is the first book in a YA adventure series. If you like an intriguing, grounded fantasy, a fast-paced adventure with characters coming to terms with inner conflicts, and battling powerful enemies, then you’ll enjoy this brand new dystopian YA adventure.

Continue reading “Book Blitz (Book Spotlight): The Given (Interland Series #1) – Gary Clark”